Our Freedom

Honour Anna Mae Pictou Aquash and Harriet Nahanee / Free John Graham and Leonard Peltier

Our Concept of Freedom May 20, 2007

Filed under: Anna Mae Pictou Aquash — ourfreedom @ 1:12 am

“While I was standing there with the group of women, waiting, I was being verbally harassed by some of the agents. They were implying that they had been looking for me for a long time and that they were very pleased that they finally found me, and then they were accusing me of a number of things that I have not done… They told me that I’d be in Canada by the afternoon, that they were gonna deport me, and I was in this country illegally. I tried explaining to them that I wasn’t and they just totally ignored me… […] They emptied medicine bags and threw about medicine pipes and confiscated eagle feathers, and varieties of beadwork, and those objects that are used in sacred ceremonies… They just didn’t seem to care…

“When they were trying to remove my medicine bag… I refused to remove it and they told me I could take it off, the boogeyman isn’t going to bother me. […] I think it’s a very serious matter. They have absolutely no respect for a religion or a belief that another nation has, and that’s… very racist. They don’t have the ability to just allow someone to believe in something else… […]

“I think that they most definitely want to destroy the Indian Nation if it will not submit to the living conditions of a so-called reservation. They definitely are out to destroy our concept of freedom.”

– Anna Mae Pictou Aquash, Warrior of the Mi’kmaq Nation and the American Indian Movement, responding to her arrest and interrogation by agents of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) of the United States government after a September 1975 raid of the Rosebud reservation (Lakota Nation) in South Dakota

[Excerpts from an interview of Anna Mae by Candy Hamilton, September 1975, published in the book “In the Spirit of Crazy Horse” by Peter Matthiessen, 1983 ]

 

Leave a Reply

