Our Freedom

Honour Anna Mae Pictou Aquash and Harriet Nahanee / Free John Graham and Leonard Peltier

Leonard Peltier’s Affidavit Submitted to John Graham’s Extradition Defense May 19, 2007

Filed under: Leonard Peltier — ourfreedom @ 3:33 am

Leonard Peltier’s Affidavit Submitted to John Graham’s Extradition Defense

I, Leonard Peltier, of Leavenworth USP, in the City of Leavenworth, in the State of Kansas, hereby make oath and say as follows that sometime in or about 1998 or 1999, Robert Branscombe and his wife visited with me here at the Leavenworth penitentiary. Branscombe stated that he was investigating the death of Anna Mae Aquash and he had a proposition to make to me. About this time, Shannon got up and went to the bathroom. Branscombe said he was working with Ecoffey and the Denver police, including Abel Alonzo. He asked if I would help in their investigation. I told him that I knew nothing about her death, so how could I help them. I told him I suspected the FBI had some involvement because of records I had seen. Branscombe told me that they were after the leadership of AIM, including Dennis Banks and Vernon Bellecourt. I repeated I knew nothing and did not believe they were involved. Branscombe said that because of my credibility he had spoken with the U.S. attorney who had indicated that they could help me get out of prison if I cooperated. I asked him whether they wanted me to lie and become another Myrtle Poor Bear. Branscombe replied that, “We can help you. All you have to do is name names and testify against the leadership.” I repeated that I would never lie and become a Myrtle Poor Bear like the government did to me. I told him the visit was over and I refused to say anything else to him.

[Text from affidavit of Leonard Peltier, filed by John Graham’s legal defence, from the decision of “The Honourable Madam Justice Bennett Ruling on an Application to Stay Proceedings”, January 31, 2005, U.S.A. v. Graham, Supreme Court of British Columbia in Vancouver, Canada]

Outside the courthouse, Vancouver, Feb. 21, 2005, Photo: Joni Miller

Outside the courthouse, Vancouver, Feb. 21, 2005, Photo: Joni Miller
Centre: Elder-warrior Harriet Nahanee and Chief Te Kapilano of the Squamish Nation

 

Leave a Reply

